finissage: na – christian boltanski

29 April 2018

After five successful months, on 29 April the NA exhibition with work by Christian Boltanski is drawing to a close. Boltanski created a new composite work for the Oude Kerk and placed monumental installations in order to speculate about what might happen after our lives come to an end.

The exhibition will be fittingly concluded with a work that composer Franck Krawczyk has specially devised. An adapted version of his ‘walking concert’ will be staged on the evening of 29 April, offering the public a final opportunity to wander through this substantial exhibition. Thirteen cellists repeat a relay piece four times; their performances are alternated with solos by soprano Klaartje van Veldhoven and two compositions for vocal quartet. Visitors wandering through the church themselves decide on their attitude to sound. It is a spectacular conclusion of a much-discussed exhibition.

franck krawczyk
French composer Franck Krawczyk has been collaborating for many years with artist Christian Boltanski on, among other things, his exhibition Monumenta at the Grand Palais (2010) and at the Venice Biennale (2011). In 2016, his composition Après premiered, written on behalf of the New York Philharmonic on the recommendation of composer Henri Dutilleux. In the Netherlands, Krawczyk could already be heard at the Holland Festival, in collaboration with ICK/Emio Greco and Pieter C. Scholten.
For the Christian Boltanski exhibition, he composed a diptych: VOOR / NA. VOOR played on 6 April, 8 a.m. as part of the concert series Silence. NA once again centres on Krawczyk’s composition Lamento, which is played four times. Lamento is alternated by NADA by Franck Krawczyk, and two transcriptions by Franz Liszt (Weinen Klagen Sorgen Zagen and Nuages Gris). The final of NA is Liebestod from Tristan and Isolde by Richard Wagner.

Franck Krawczyk – composition, musical direction, piano
Klaartje van Veldhoven – soprano
Elsbeth Gerritsen – alt
Steven van Gils – tenor
Arnout Lems – bas
Tjakina Oosting – solo cello
Cassandra Luckhardt, Anne Korff de Gidts, Magrita Rondeel, Jur de Vries – cello
The cello section of the Amsterdams Studenten Orkest Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck

sweelinck: 2 p.m., 4 p.m. 6 p.m.
At 2, 4 and 6 p.m. Sweelincks composition Mein Junges Leben hat ein End will be played by Matteo Imbruno (organ) and Arnout Lems (bas). A man sings for his wife and young child: he knows that soon his soul will depart.

finissage: christian boltanski
29 April 2018, 20:00 – 21:30
oude kerk, oudekerksplein (redlight disctrict), amsterdam
price: 10 euro’s (online tickets) (free entrance with museumcard, we are public and Friends pass)

This exhibition is made possible with the support of the Amsterdams Fonds voor de Kunst, BankGiro Loterij Fonds, Fonds 21 ,Gravin van Bylandt StichtingJemi BloemenwinkelStichting Gifted Art and Stichting Zabawas.

image: gert jan van rooij